What does “UHD” mean? What is the difference between “UHD” and “FHD”?

“UHD” is the abbreviation of Ultra High Definition, which means Ultra High Definition. The “UHD” standard proposal issued by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) calls the display with a physical resolution of 3840×2160 (4K×2K) and above as ultra high definition. Under different standards, the resolution represented by UHD is different. For example, the common resolution of Full Aperture UHD in the film industry is 4096 x 3112 and Academy UHD is 3656×2664. Generally speaking, UHD TV is the standard issued by ITU.

FHD is called Full High Definition. In the internationally recognized standards, “HD” is defined as three standard forms of 720p, 1080i and 1080p. But FHD is 1920*1080p. There are two conditions for this standard: 1. the video vertical resolution exceeds 720p or 1080i; 2. the video aspect ratio is 16:9. “P” means progressive scanning and “I” means interlaced scanning. Generally speaking, 480*320, 640*480 are “standard definition”; 1024*720p, 1920*1080i are “high definition”; 1920*1080p is “full HD”; 3840*2160, 7680*4320 are “ultra HD” (UHD).

Then we can clearly see the difference between UHD and FHD. UHD is Ultra High Definition with a resolution of 3840×2160 and above and FHD is 1920×1080p. In terms of video resolution, UHD is at least 4 times higher than FHD. The previous difference is intuitive and can be distinguished with our eyes.
HD 1280*720
FHD 1920*1080
QHD 2560*1440
UHD 3840x2160 (4K)
WFHD 2560*1080
WQHD 3440*1440
WUHD 5120*2160